TEAM UMP EMERGED AS WINNER IN MALAY CATEGORY IN ROYAL DEBATE



By: MOHD FERDAUS MUSA

they emerged as champion in the Malay category in the Royal a trophy and certificates. Debate 2012 by beating Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) team team as Nur Aida Faisal was also at the finals held at Cultural Hall, announced as the best speaker and

UMP, who served as the opposing team, was represented niversiti Malaysia Pahang by Shabnam Parween Mohd Salim, (UMP) debate team did Nur Aida Faisal, Mohd Amirul Hafiz the university proud when Abdul Hamid and Wu Daniel.

They took home RM4,000 cash,

It was a double joy for the USM, Penang on February 15, 2012. won RM1,000 cash, a trophy and



It was a proud moment too when two speakers from UMP, Muhammad Qusyairi Hashim and Siti Aisyah Mustapha, were listed as among the five best overall speakers

certificate.

Another debate team who took part in the Malay category (main) won third place and was rewarded with RM1,500 cash, a trophy and certificates.

The team comprised Siti Aisyah Mustapha, Muhammad Qusyairi Hashim, Qamaruddin Mohd Fauzi and Muhammad Igram Zulkifli.

The winner for the category was Universiti Malaya (UM) while Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) was the first runner up.

It was a proud moment too when two speakers from UMP, Muhammad Qusyairi Hashim and Siti Aisyah Mustapha, were listed as among the five best overall speakers.

Siti Aisyah also added another prize when she received a MADUM (Malaysia Universities Debate Council) Special Award for being the driving force in a debate in a public university.

Siti Aishah Mustafa, 22, a third-year Applied Science degree student (Industrial Biotechnology), said she was thankful that UMP team did well in the competition.

"The win reflected UMP team's capability in being competitive against other universities," she added.

She hoped that the win would motivate the team to continue to be successful in the future.

Higher Education Deputy Minister, Dato' Saifuddin Abdullah officially closed the event and presented prizes to the winners.