NST (NATION) 30/4/2017 (AHAD) MULA SURAT: 18 RESPONSIBILITY

UMP committed to role to improve society

KUANTAN: Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) remains committed to ensuring its expertise in research and technology improves the livelihood of the people and society.

UMP Vice-Chancellor Professor Datuk Dr Daing Nasir Ibrahim said this was in line with its 2016-2020 UMP Strategic Plan to carry out its role and social responsibility as part of its Communitisation of Technology agenda.

"The university's engineering, scientific and technological expertise is intrinsically-linked with the fundamental issues at the societal level, such as the need for electricity, clean water and use of fuel," he said at UMP's 2016 Cendekia Bitara Awards in Zenith Hotel on Friday.

On the university's achievements, he said until October last year, UMP won 28 gold, 16 silver,



Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob presenting an award to Professor Dr Rizalman Mamat at UMP's 2016 Cendekia Bitara Awards in Kuantan on Friday. With them are UMP Vice-Chancellor Professor Datuk Dr Daing Nasir Ibrahim (right).

and nine bronze medals in local and international research competitions.

He said UMP attained fourth place in Malaysia, seventh place in Southeast Asia, 13th in Asia and 58th globally for the UI-Green Metric World University Ranking 2016.

As for research grants, he said UMP received RM66.6 million for 865 research projects as of last year, which was a 28.9 per cent increase from RM51.2 million from 2015.

Daing said the university was the recipient of RM7.64 million in international grants from various agencies until November last year, marking a 48 per cent uptake from RM5.16 million in 2015.

During the event, 120 researchers and lecturers received awards from Menteri Besar

Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob.

Among them was the university's deputy vice-chancellor of research and development Professor Dr Mashitah Mohd Yusoff, who received the Distinguished Individual Category Award.

Other winners include Professor Dr Rizalman Mamat and Dr Wan Azmi Wan Hamzah for the Journal Publication Category, and Mashitah, Professor Datuk Dr Zularisam Ab Wahid and Professor Datuk Dr Rosli Mohd Yunus for Patent Granted Category.