



(http://mygift.ump.edu.my/index.php/ms/wakaf-kolej-kediaman)



GENERAL (/INDEX.PHP/GENERAL)

UMP students responsibly elect leaders

11 December 2019 / 0 Comments (/index.php/general/ump-students-responsibly-elect-leaders/#comments)

The students of Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) are now more mature in choosing their representatives. There was a change in the campus political landscape when the election was run fully by a committee comprising students solely.

The chairman of the Student Election Council 2019/2020, Mohamed Al-Fateh Ab Razak was relieved when the election run smoothly at both the UMP Gambang and Pekan campuses on 28 November 2019.

"Alhamdulillah, despite the rain, the polling process went uninterrupted from 9.00 am until 5.00 pm. The voter turnout was 52.69 per cent," he said.

In this election, 42 seats were contested with 14 general seats and 28 faculty seats. Nine candidates emerged victorious unopposed. The use of e-Voting since a few years ago facilitated the voting process with immediate results.

Muhammad Zufli Zuhari dan Nur Zarith Halisa Mohamad Sofi won the faculty seats for the Faculty of Industrial Management.For the Faculty of Science and Industrial Technology, Wan Nur Ardini Che Wan Shamsul Akhbar dan Nur Shafiqah Zakaria won.

Meanwhile, Ee Hui En dan Mohd Haziq Hamid Khan won the faculty seats for the Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology, and Muhammad Azhar Jamal dan Muhammad Nazhif Mohd Azan won the faculty seats for the Faculty of Mechanical and Automotive Engineering Technology.

Three faculties were uncontested, namely the Faculty of Electrical and Electronics Engineering Technology (Muhammad Othman Maliki), Faculty of Civil Engineering Technology (Nuraisyah Fikryah Muhamod) and Faculty of Computing (Mohamad Khaiyum Ahmad Ishak and Aishah Umairah Sutrisno Karsono Sadiam).

Lim Sin Yin and Hafizul Fahim Mohd Roffi won for the Department of Electrical Engineering. The seats for the Department of Industrial Engineering were won by Muhammad Hisyamuddin Abdul Aziz and Muhammad Arif Hakim Mohd Hanafi. Low Chen Ping and Nurhidayah Norhazan won for the Department of Chemical Engineering.

Two departments were uncontested, namely the Department of Civil Engineering (Khong Sheh Ching and Yee Jia Ju) and Department of Mechanical Engineering (Muhammad Muadz Khairul Rizan).

The 14 general seats were won by Muhammad Syahiruddin Mohd Sabri, Ahmad Rifqi Mohd Jerome Rinjes, Mohd Asraf Andman, Mohd Fitri Zulkaffli, Che Muhammad Harith Ab Halim, Nurul Ishafira Ismail, Nik Athirah Nik Mahdi, Nur Amira Shafiqa Ismail, Mohamad Irfan Zainuddin, Nur Shazwanie Zainurin, Amir Zuhaili Abdul Karim, Nur Ain Natasya Azman, Muhammad Nur Aqmal Nazri and Anis Nabilla Ahmad.

The results were announced by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni), Professor Dato' Dr. Yuserrie Zainuddin, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation), Professor Dr. Kamal Zuhairi Zamli and the Dean of Student Development, Student Affairs and Alumni Department, Dr. Ahmad Johari Mohammad.

Professor Dato' Dr. Yuserrie Zainuddin congratulated the successful implementation of this election which is considered a manifestation of the establishment of students union. He expects students to continuously develop their leadership and management in student affairs towards establishing students union.

"Students are required to be mature and professional in handling student issues.

"As leaders, they must respect and apply the values and affection between students, and make JHEPA as a strategic partner in efforts to empower students and help improve services in the university," he said.

Translation by: Dr. Rozaimi Abu Samah, Faculty Of Chemical And Process Engineering Technology