







General

UMP students vote representatives this week

15 January 2021

By: Nor Salwana Mohd Idris, Corporate Communications Unit, The Office of The Vice-Chancellor Translation by: Dr. Rozaimi Abu Samah, Engineering College/Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology

PEKAN, 12 January 2021 – The election for Student Representative Council (MPP), Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) was carried out online to adapt to the new norm. However, the voting system was still carried out using the e-Voting system introduced a while ago.

Students have to access the e-Community platform to choose the desired candidates.

This time, 2,122 students from the Faculty of Industrial Management (FIM) and the Department of Mechanical Engineering performed their duty in the UMP MPP Election for the 2020/2021 session on 12 and 13 January 2021.

According to UMP MPP Election Manager, Che Mohammad Harith Ab Halim, the registration of candidates started from 1 until 5 January 2021 involving the nomination of 30 candidates. "The campaign period via social media was held for five days from 7 to 11 January 2021 to contend for the 13 general seat and 27 faculty seats.

"This year only two faculties were involved, the Faculty of Industrial Management and the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and 38 seats were won without contest," he said. Besides that, with the new norm, the voting process also took two days.

The first day was reserved for the Faculty of Industrial Management students and the second day for the Department of Mechanical Engineering students. Three candidates contended for two seats in the Faculty of Industrial Management, namely Basnel Marjonni Basri, Mohammad Azrul Hamim Mohd Azhar and Noor Safwan Arif Noryami.

Meanwhile, three candidates contending for the Department of Mechanical Engineering were Wan Muhammad Syafiq Wan Mohd Zafry, Syafiq Ahmad Abdul Aleem and Muhammad Muadz Khairul Rizan vying for two seats.

He said the official results of the UMP MPP Election is expected to be released the latest at 6.30 pm, 13 January 2021.