









MOU/MOA

UMPSA strengthens collaboration with Sabah Foundation Group and Yayasan Sabah College of Technology

KOTA KINABALU, 12 October 2023 - Universiti Malaysia Pahang Al-Sultan Abdullah (UMPSA) is strengthening its collaborative relationship with the Sabah Foundation Group (YS) and the Yayasan Sabah College of Technology (KTYS) regarding educational sponsorship and student intake.

The signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) is an extension of the long-standing collaboration between the Sabah Foundation, KTYS, and UMPSA.

During the ceremony, the Vice-Chancellor of UMPSA, Professor Dato' Ts. Dr. Yuserrie Zainuddin, signed the MoU with the Director of the Sabah Foundation Group, Dato' Sri Haji <u>Gulamhaidar@Yusof</u> Khan Bahadar, and the Chairman of the Board of Directors of KTYS, Datuk Hajah Tah Nia Haji Jaman.



According to Professor Dato' Ts. Dr. Yuserrie, the collaboration with the Sabah Foundation will provide more opportunities for students from Sabah to pursue studies at UMPSA, especially in the dual degree programmes with German and Chinese universities.

"This collaboration involves UMPSA's Engineering programmes in partnership with students from Sabah, so KTYS needs to be involved as a 'feeder institution' to these programmes. This partnership is not limited to educational sponsorship but encompasses all aspects that benefit both parties. Additionally, the collaboration with KTYS will allow students from Sabah, especially those from KTYS, to further their studies at the undergraduate level at UMPSA," he said.



UMPSA's dual degree programmes, a result of collaboration with universities in Germany for the past 12 years, include programmes in Mechatronics, Automotive Engineering, Electrical Engineering in partnership with the Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences (HKA). This also includes the Business Engineering programme in collaboration with Mannheim University of Applied Sciences (HMA).

Currently, UMPSA has collaborated with several universities in China, such as Beijing Jiaotong University (BJTU), Tianjin University (TJU), Hebei University (HBU), and Ningxia University (NXU).

By: Siti Nur Azwin Zulkapri Centre for Corporate Communications
Translation by: Aminatul Nor Mohamed Said, UMP Career Centre (UMPCC)

TAGS / KEYWORDS

<u>Sabah Foundation Group</u>

Yayasan Sabah College of Technology